Home Maps / Scenarios Fifth Coalition (1809) 319 Wagram - Macdonald’s Square (6 July 1809)
16 | 09 | 2014
Main Menu
Rules
Variants
JoomlaWatch Stats 1.2.9 by Matej Koval


Visitors

Today: 88
Yesterday: 86
This Week: 174
Last Week: 607
This Month: 1489
Last Month: 3037
Total: 36099

Countries

28.6%United States United States
18.3%United Kingdom United Kingdom
9.3%France France
8.4%Germany Germany
6.5%Spain Spain


25
Nov
2013
319 Wagram - Macdonald’s Square (6 July 1809) PDF Print E-mail
66.7 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY 33.3 %
Total Plays 9 - Last played by goldbrandon on 2014-08-16
( 1 Vote )
Written by GMT Games   

Wagram - 6 July 1809 (Macdonald’s Square)

Historical Background
The Austrians had repulsed the French late day attacks on July 5th but Charles knew he was still outnumbered. He chose the audacious course of an early morning double envelopment attack to defeat Napoleon before the superior French numbers made Austrian defeat inevitable.
Coordination, the Austrian Achilles heel, again bedeviled Charles. Rosenberg’s attack against Davout failed, and even though the attack against the French left came very close to succeeding, Napoleon contained it without using his reserves. Now, with Davout advancing inexorably against the Austrian left, Napoleon knew the time had come to split the Austrian center and crush the Austrians once and for all.
Napoleon ordered Macdonald to attack the Austrian center, supported by a massed French battery that had already inflicted massive Austrian losses. Although the French giant hollow square attack formation was somewhat unusual, it slowly gained momentum, even though the Austrian artillery and infantry responded by laying down an intense fire against the advancing infantry. Charles then ordered the Austrian cavalry to attack Macdonald’s flank, but the French cavalry rode forward to counter. Massive casualties reduced the 8,000 man hollow square to 1,500 men by the time they closed with the Austrian Grenadiers at bayonet point, Although Macdonald’s infantry could not break the Austrian battle line, it did prevent Charles from reinforcing his own attacks or supporting Rosenberg against Davout. Seeing his left flank was lost, Charles knew the battle had turned against him and ordered his army to withdraw. The exhausted French army could only follow, rather than stage a strong pursuit.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?

 

Set-Up Order

Forest 3
Hill 3
Town 3

 

Battle Notes

Austrian Army
• Commander: Charles
• 5 Command Cards

Line Infantry Grenadier Infantry Militia Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Cuirassier Heavy Cavalry Foot Artillery Horse Artillery General
6 5 1 1 1 1 1 1 4

French Army
• Commander: Napoleon
• 6 Command Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Foot Artillery General
11 2 2 3 6

 

Victory
7 Banners

Special Rules
• The infantry units in Macdonald’s formation, when in adjacent contiguous hexes to Macdonald, are all ordered when any of the units in the formation are ordered.
Regardless of the Command Card played, units in the formation may only move one hex. Regardless of the number of MacDonald infantry units ordered, only the number of MacDonald infantry units equal to the number on the Command card may battle. A unit may not be ordered to break away from the formation. However, if a unit is forced to retreat and is no longer in an adjacent contiguous hex, it is no longer considered part of the formation. Any unit ordered to form square is no longer considered part of the formation.

• The French player gains 1 Victory Banner at the start of the turn for each town hex occupied.

Last Updated on Monday, 25 November 2013 10:45
 

Discuss this article in the forums (11 replies).
Posted: 4 months 3 weeks ago by Michalxo #1484
Michalxo's Avatar
Ok, that makes perfect sense now, after Mark's explanation. Exactly as I understood previously.
Thank you Mark and Bayernkini :)
Posted: 4 months 3 weeks ago by Mark McG #1483
Mark McG's Avatar
My view is that it is better to consider that the cards only order units as normal.

If a MacDonald's square INF is ordered, all the other units may move. They are not ordered for any other purpose.

The units that were ordered may battle normally.

So was Boussier able to be ordered? No. Because it was not a Centre unit.
Ergo, Boussier cannot battle.

If Lamarche was ordered, he could battle, but even being in the centre, if not ordered.. then no battle.
Posted: 4 months 3 weeks ago by Bayernkini #1482
Bayernkini's Avatar
No, only the number of units, which the command cards shows, can battle.
So far, all battles, which i saw, are been correct :)

But you are right, this rule is unlucky :S
Posted: 4 months 3 weeks ago by Michalxo #1481
Michalxo's Avatar
I got lost now.
It was all clear, and now after reading
A: In regard to battling, any ordered unit may battle. The section a unit starts in or ends in or remains in does not restrict what units may battle.

What? So any unit from McD can battle? Ignoring sections??
So can Broussier attack or no?
Posted: 4 months 3 weeks ago by Bayernkini #1480
Bayernkini's Avatar
3. Ordered by Forced March, can only the units in one section battle?
(RB) Yes, only units in one section may battle.

4. Can units out of section be considered ordered for battle purposes?
(RB) No, only ordered units on the Command card section may battle.
For a Coordinated Advance and Recon in Force Command card played, units each section of MacDonald’s formation could battle.


To make this rule/FAQ more clear (because of a similar situation in a tournament game), i got still another additional answer from Richard :)





MacDonalds formation was ordered by a Attack Center, so complete formation was ordered and can move with the initial center card. That´s no problem :)
The question was,

Q: Can the left French unit with Leader (Broussier), which startet on left section, move into Center section and battle. Or can only the Units battle, which started on Center, because of the Initial Center card?

A: In regard to battling, any ordered unit may battle. The section a unit starts in or ends in or remains in does not restrict what units may battle.
Richard Borg


This makes it more clear now. General a nice rule, but in game it makes sometimes worries, with which cards, which units can ordered and how many may battle in which sections :dry:
Posted: 5 months 2 days ago by Bayernkini #1452
Bayernkini's Avatar
If you give only 1 order of the Elan result (INF in this case) to the MacDonalds formation, then the complete formation is ordered and may move, BUT only the inital number of orders which you apply to the formation, may battle, in your example only 1 INF.

It´s similar as the number 6 of the FAQ answers (see post above from Alessandro) says about a Leadership cards.
Posted: 5 months 2 days ago by Michalxo #1449
Michalxo's Avatar
What about for example elan card?
Imagine I roll XSW, CAV, INF, ART, XSW, INF. That means that I could order 1 INF unit in McD, another 1 unit somewhere else on map and ART + CAV. That's clear. Now that solo INF moves, and whole McD moves, thank's to that single INF, and CAV + ART.

Now I have question, does it mean, that 4 any units from McD may battle? + 1 solo INF unit somewhere else on map, CAV and ART. Do I understand it correctly?
Posted: 8 months 1 week ago by alecrespi #1290
alecrespi's Avatar
Hi Mark,
just received from Mr Borg an official answer to your questions... here they are.

1. If MacDonald is killed?
(RB) Note, the formation is only maintained while infantry units are in an adjacent contiguous hexes to the MacDonald block.
If MacDonald is eliminated the formation is no longer maintained.
Also note, an infantry unit that forms square or is forced to retreat and is no longer part of the formation, may rejoin the formation when the unit comes out of square or moves and it is again in an adjacent contiguous hex to the MacDonald block

2. Can the formation stretch into a line?
(RB) Yes, the formation could be stretched into a line.

3. Ordered by Forced March, can only the units in one section battle?
(RB) Yes, only units in one section may battle.

4. Can units out of section be considered ordered for battle purposes?
(RB) No, only ordered units on the Command card section may battle.
For a Coordinated Advance and Recon in Force Command card played, units each section of MacDonald’s formation could battle.

5. If MacDonald’s unit forms a square, does the whole formation fall apart?
(RB) This is an interesting question, and probably somewhat of a “so what would happen if” type question.
Although the infantry unit with MacDonald attached is technically not in the formation, infantry units still in an adjacent contiguous hexes to the MacDonald block are still part of the formation.

6. Leadership cards, orders all formation?
(RB) When MacDonald is ordered by a Leadership Command card, the infantry unit he is attached to and infantry units in an adjacent contiguous hexes to the MacDonald block are ordered. Only the infantry unit with MacDonald attached may battle.

7. May MacDonald be ordered to break away from the formation?
(RB) No, like an infantry unit in the formation, the MacDonald block may not be ordered to break away from the formation.


I hope everything would be clearer then.
Regards
Alessandro
Posted: 8 months 2 weeks ago by Mark McG #1289
Mark McG's Avatar
So my understanding of the way the rule is intended to work is that units are ordered normally, and if one or more of the units are part of MacDonald's formation, then the whole formation can move (only). When moving each LN unit was remain adjacent to 1 other unit in the formation such that a continuous line of LN units can be traced to MacDonald.

So a line could be formed by this movement, the formation is flexible. However, no unit can voluntarily detach.
Posted: 8 months 2 weeks ago by Mark McG #1288
Mark McG's Avatar
Many questions about MacDonald's formation when things happen as follows;

1. If MacDonald is killed?
2. Can the formation stretch into a line?
3. Ordered by Forced March, can only the units in one section battle?
4. Can units out of section be considered ordered for battle purposes?
5. If MacDonald's unit forms a square, does the whole formation fall apart?
6. Leadership cards, orders all formation?

Other battles in Fifth Coalition (1809)

AK01 Raab (14 June 1809)
306 Clash At Pordenone (15 April 1809)
307 Sacile (16 April 1809)
SS01 Raszyn (19 April 1809)
308 Teugen-Hausen (19 April 1809)
309 Rohr (20 April 1809)
310 Eggmühl - Day1 (21 April 1809)
311 Eggmühl - Day 2 Attack on Eggmühl (22 April 1809)
312 Eggmühl - Day 2 French Left (22 April 1809)
313 Eggmühl - Day 2 French Right (22 April 1809)
MD12 - Eggmühl - Day 2 French Left & Right (22 April 1809)
314 Eggmühl - Day 2 Alteglofsheim (22 April 1809)
315 Aspern-Essling - Day 1 Aspern (21 May 1809)
316 Aspern-Essling - Day 1 Essling (21 May 1809)
MD13 - Aspern-Essling - Day 1 (21 May 1809)
317 St. Michael-Leoben (25 May 1809)
318 Wagram - Gross-Enzersdorf (5 July 1809)
320 Wagram - Davout at Markgrafneusiedl (6 July 1809)